Board Role and Membership

Board & Management

The Board is comprised of a Non-Executive Chairman, Managing Director and five other Non-Executive Directors all of whom have a personal financial interest in the Company.

Mark Freeman, as Managing Director of the Company is an Executive Director.



Bruce B Teele

BSc, BCom (Melb). Chairman and Non-Executive Director. Chairman of the Investment Committee.

Mr Teele was elected to the Board in 2003 and appointed Chairman in 2004. He was formerly the Chairman of Australian Foundation Investment Company Limited (AFIC) and Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and the Executive Chairman of the JBWere Group. 


R Mark Freeman

BE, MBA, Grad Dip App Fin (Sec Inst), AMP (INSEAD).  Managing Director and Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Freeman became Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director in January 2018 having been Chief Investment Officer since joining the Company in February 2007. Prior to this he was a Partner with Goldman Sachs JBWere where he spent 12 years advising the Investment Companies on their investment and dealing activities. He has a deep knowledge and experience of investments markets and the Company’s approaches, policies and processes. He is also Managing Director of AFIC, Djerriwarrh Investments Limited and Mirrabooka Investments Limited.


Ross E Barker

BSc (Hons), MBA (Melb), F Fin. Non-Executive Director. Member of the Investment and Audit Committees.

Mr Barker has been a Director of the Company since May 1996 and was Managing Director from February 2001 to December 2017. Mr Barker transitioned to a Non-Executive Director in January 2018. He is also a Non-Executive Director of AFIC, Mirrabooka Investments Limited and AICS (Australian Investment Company Services Limited, a subsidiary of AFIC).  He is Chairman of Melbourne Business School Ltd, and an Advisory Board member of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne.


Roger G Brown

B.Eng, MBA. Independent Non-Executive Director.  Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Brown was appointed to the Board in February 2014. He has been the Non-Executive Chairman of ARB Corporation Limited since 2016. Mr Brown also held the position of Executive Chairman of the company from 1987 to 2016.

Mr Brown has wide experience as a CEO and Director and brings to the company a wealth of knowledge from ARB Corporation’s involvement in the automotive industry in Australia and overseas.


Michael J Hirst

B Com (Melb), SF Fin

Mr Hirst joined the Board in January 2019.  He is a Director of GMHBA Limited,, GMHBA Services Limited and Deputy Chairman of Racing Victoria Limited.  He was Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Ltd from 2009 to 2018.  He previously held senior executive and management positions with Colonial Limited, Chase AMP Bank Limited and Westpac Banking Corporation.  He is an honorary member of the Business Council of Australia and a Board member of the Grow 21 Strategic Advisory Board.


Siobhan L McKenna

B.Ec. (Hons) MPHIL. Independent Non-Executive Director. Member of the Audit Committee.

Ms McKenna joined the Board in March 2016.  She is Chairman of Foxtel, Fox Sports and Australian News Channel, a Non-Executive Director of Woolworths Limited, and a Director of Illyria Pty Ltd and Nova Entertainment.

Ms McKenna is a former partner of McKinsey & Company, a former Commissioner of the Australian Productivity Commission, and a former Chairman of NBN.


Ruper Myer AO

BCom (Hons) (Melb), MA (Cantab). Independent Non-Executive Director. Chairman of the Audit Committee and Member of the Investment Committee.

Mr Myer is a company Director and was appointed a Director in January 2000.  Currently, he is Chairman of the Yulgilbar Group and a Director of eCargo Holdings Limited, Mutual Trust Pty Limited and Myer Family Investments Pty Ltd.  Mr Myer was formerly Deputy Chairman of Myer Holdings Ltd, a Director of Diversified United Investments Limited and Healthscope Limited.


Jon Webster AM

BCom, LLB (Hons) LLM. Independent Non-Executive Director.

Mr Webster was appointed to the Board in November 2016.  Mr Webster is a consultant at Allens having been a partner of Allens practicing in the area of mergers and acquisitions for over 30 years and was a Board member of Allens for 12 years.  He is a Trustee of the R E Ross Trust and a Director of Hillview Quarries Pty Ltd and of the Human Rights Law Centre.  He is a former Chairman of the Audit Committee of the Northern Land Council, Chairman of the Corporations Committee of the Law Council of Australia, a former member of the ASX's Listings Advisory Panel and of the Federal Government's Consultative Group to the Corporations Law Simplification Task Force.

The role of the Board is generally to set objectives and goals for the operation of the Company, to oversee the Company's management, to regularly review the Company's performance and to monitor its affairs in the best interests of the Company. For these responsibilities the Board is accountable to its shareholders as owners of the Company. 

The Board has approved a Board charter governing its operation. 




PDF icon 


Ms McKenna is a former partner of McKinsey & Company, a former Commissioner of the Australian Productivity Commission, and a former Chair of NBN Co Limited.